Joy Division Reworked by Heritage Orchestra & Scanner

Posted on September 16th, 2013 by in Music Industry News

UK Tour: 21st September – 2nd October 2013

A startlingly unique audio-visual collaboration between electronic music pioneer Scanner, the Heritage Orchestra, and visual artist Matt Watkins (Beat13) reinterpreting one of the UK’s most influential bands, Joy Division.

This sonic and visual spectacle turns the tables on the conventional concert experience. Rather than classical interpretations or cover versions, Live_Transmission is a fearless dismantling of Joy Division’s visual and musical motifs, creating a hugely powerful immersive event that pays homage to one of the world’s most progressive ‘art’ bands.

The entire show pivots around the virtuosic ferocity of drummer Adam Betts, guitarist Matt Calvert (both members of instrumental noise-rock band Three Trapped Tigers) and bassist John Calvert (Ghostpoet). Conductor Jules Buckley battles with equal force using the incomparable strings, brass, voices, and percussion of the Heritage Orchestra in conjunction with the incomparable sounds of Scanner. Huge screens capture the projected artwork of Matt Watkins, with a barrage of visuals that switch between clarity and chaos.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply