Leonard Cohen – Old Ideas LP

Posted on January 20th, 2012 by in New Music

The Canadian singer-songwriter arrives in London to unveil his new album.

Leonhard Cohen has been busy. Allegedly. Speaking at a special playback session that was arranged by the record label for select music industry / press types on Wednesday, he shares that during the eight years since his last full length release, he has constantly been working, and that his ‘perfectionist nature’ contributed to the lengthy wait for his fans.

That wait is nearly over with the approach of his twelfth studio album, titled ‘Old Ideas‘, and buying options include the usual mp3, CD and vinyl, but also on offer is a limited edition lithograph of Cohen’s artwork (pre-order here). The fact that Cohen is a multifaceted creator is part of his broad appeal, and fans of his crooning folk rock, spoken word, and poetry will no doubt snap up the 5500 art pieces.

As for the music on ‘Old Ideas’, the ten new songs offer up his common musings of life and death, love and relationships, and spiritual fulfillment. The official release is scheduled for January 31st, and you can check out one of the singles, Darkness, below.

Leonard Cohen – Darkness by leonardcohen

Old Ideas Tracklisting

01 – Going Home
02 – Amen
03 – Show Me the Place (with Patrick Leonard)
04 – Darkness
05 – Anyhow
06 – Crazy to Love You
07 – Come Healing
08 – Banjo
09 – Lullaby
10 – Different Sides

by Lee Jarvis.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Leonard Cohen – Old Ideas LP”

  1. macky-paige Says:

    This is going to be such a great album. I am also really excited about the Leonard Cohen covers! Check this out for more info…http://www.rollingstone.com/videos/new-and-hot/greg-dulli-sings-leonard-cohens-paper-thin-hotel-20120124

Leave a Reply